ABTA Operational Bulletin 06th July 2020


Good afternoon
The ABTA Destinations team to continue to monitor the “global against all but essential travel” restriction that was introduced by the Foreign Secretary.

FCO global advisory against ‘all but essential’ international travel  – list of  exempt counties
The Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) has updated its global advisory against ‘all but essential’ international travel to exempt certain destinations that no longer pose an unacceptably high risk of COVID-19.
The revisions being made to the  FCO’s travel advice is based on an assessment of a range of factors that could present risks to British nationals when abroad, using different criteria to the list of countries exempted from self-isolation measure and that it is based on a range of factors including epidemiological risks, capacity of local healthcare systems, transport options and law and order.
The 67 countries and territories that have been exempt from the FCO global travel advisory which is effective from 4 July are listed in the below table

The FCO has updated the travel advice guidance document to reflect these changes

Important note
The FCO travel advice is different from decisions on UK border measures, so the below list is specific to FCO travel advice only and should not be taken as a list of exemptions from UK quarantine.

Countries and territories exempt from the FCO global advisory against ‘all but essential’ international travel – from 4 July 2020
Region Country/Territory
1 Europe Austria
2 Europe Croatia
3 Europe Cyprus
4 Europe Finland
5 Europe French Polynesia
6 Europe Germany
7 Europe Hungary
8 Europe Iceland
9 Europe Malta
10 Europe Reunion
11 Europe St Pierre and Miquelon
12 Europe Andorra
13 Europe Belgium
14 Europe Czech Republic
15 Europe Denmark
16 Europe Estonia
17 Europe France (overseas territories of France are listed separately, where included in the exemption)
18 British OT Gibraltar
19 Europe Greece
20 Europe Ireland
21 Europe Italy
22 Europe Latvia
23 Europe Liechtenstein
24 Europe Lithuania
25 Europe Luxembourg
26 Europe Martinique
27 Europe Monaco
28 Europe Netherlands (not including the constituent countries and special municipalities located in the Dutch Caribbean)
29 Europe Norway
30 Europe Poland
31 Europe Portugal (The Azores & Madeira ONLY)
32 Europe San Marino
33 Europe Serbia
34 Europe Slovakia
35 Europe Slovenia
36 Europe Spain
37 Europe Switzerland
38 Europe Turkey
39 Europe Wallis and Futuna Islands
40 Americas Antigua & Barbuda
41 Americas Bahamas
42 Americas Barbados
43 Americas Dominica
44 Americas Grenada
45 Americas Jamaica
46 Americas St Kitts and Nevis
47 Americas St Lucia
48 Americas Trinidad and Tobago
49 Americas Canada
50 Americas St Vincent and The Grenadines
51 Americas Bermuda
52 Asia-Pacific Australia
53 Asia-Pacific Hong Kong
54 Asia-Pacific Japan
55 Asia-Pacific Macao
56 Asia-Pacific New Zealand
57 Asia-Pacific Singapore
58 Asia-Pacific Taiwan
59 Asia-Pacific Vietnam
60 Asia-Pacific Brunei
61 Asia-Pacific Malaysia
62 Asia-Pacific Thailand
63 Asia-Pacific South Korea
64 British OT Turks and Caicos Islands
65 British OT Cayman Islands
66 British OT British Antarctic Territory
67 British OT South Georgia & the South Sandwich Islands

Quarantine Exemptions – England  
The Government has now published the details of the travel corridors for the countries and territories that will be exempt from quarantine on arrival in England from 10 July.


From 10 July 2020 you will not have to self-isolate when you arrive in England, if you:

  • are travelling or returning from one of the travel corridor countries
  • have not been to or stopped in a country that’s not on the travel corridor list in the previous 14 day

This applies to all travel to England, by train, ferry, coach, air or any other route.

If you have been to or stopped in a country that’s not on the travel corridor list you will have to self-isolate until 14 days have passed since you left that country

Important note
The quarantine measures and decisions on UK border measures are distinct from the FCO travel advice country exemption from the global all but essential travel restriction”. The below list is specific to quarantine measures only.

The countries and territories exempt from the FCO global “all but essential travel restriction may be different to those countries included in the quarantine exemption list. 

Travel corridor list – quarantine exemption on arrival in England

From 10 July 2020, unless passengers have visited or stopped in any other country or territory in the preceding 14 days, passengers arriving from the following countries and territories will not be required to self-isolate on arrival into England.

Andorra Germany New Zealand
Antigua and Barbuda Greece Norway
Aruba Greenland Poland
Australia Grenada Réunion
Austria Guadeloupe San Marino
Bahamas Hong Kong Serbia
Barbados Hungary Seychelles
Belgium Iceland South Korea
Bonaire, Siant Eustatius and Saba Italy Spain
Croatia Jamaica St Barthélemy
Curaçao Japan St Kitts and Nevis
Cyprus Liechtenstein St Lucia
Czech Republic Lithuania St Pierre and Miquelon
Denmark Luxembourg Switzerland
Dominica Macau Taiwan
Faroe Islands Malta Trinidad and Tobago
Fiji Mauritius Turkey
Finland Monaco Vatican City
France Netherlands Vietnam
French Polynesia New Caledonia

Ireland is already exempt as part of the common travel area, as are the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man.

In addition, we will be exempting the 14 British Overseas Territories.
This list may be added to over the coming days following further discussions between the UK and international partners.

Information for travel into Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland will be published in due course by the Devolved Administrations.

The ABTA Destinations team will continue to monitor the situation and provide a further update when the more details become available.

Best regards,
The ABTA Destinations Team
Destinations and Sustainability

Email: destinations@abta.co.uk
Click here for ABTA’s Terms & Conditions